Scared To Make My Dreams Come True

Posted: March 19, 2014 in Choices
Tags: ,

4/12/12

The texts you send, and the words you say,
Tell me that there is no other way.
I have to make a choice, it’s either him or you,
But this is breaking my heart, tearing me in two.

I’m scared of what will happen, don’t want anyone to be hurt.
But I’m afraid this is an issue we can not longer avert.
I no longer see the sun, all I feel is the cold rain,
I didn’t want this to happen, I didn’t want the pain.

You ask how much I love you, are my actions not enough?
What about that bracelet you wear? My wrist bears the same cuff.
You say I don’t feel the same way you do,
What more do I have to do to prove my feelings are true?

Because of all the pain I’ve had in the past,
I’m afraid to get close, afraid it won’t last,
I’ve learned to be cautious, not to open my heart,
For if I do, and it does end, my whole world will fall apart.

You tell me that you love me, I trust every word you say.
I know you wish we were together, in my arms you wish to lay.
But just because I don’t leave him, doesn’t mean I don’t want you,
I’m just scared to take that first step, scared to make my dreams come true.

Leave a Reply

